Limited availability due to high demand. Please see our Stock Availability page for more information.

Verified Reviews for Universal Automatic Chicken Coop Door

Back to Product

5 Stars:

0

3 Stars:

0

2 Stars:

0

1 Star:

0

Average Rating:
Based on 67 Verified Reviews

Write Review

Easy to install! Works great! - Amanda,

This is a wonderful product and was super easy to install! We put it on a coop my husband built from wood and barn siding and the instructions were straight forward and made installation quick. We bought 2 of these, as our coop is split between big birds and bantams. I have both doors set to open and close at the same time and both are keeping time accurately. I had thought that you could plug in the unit using Omlet's plug (which we bought) and put batteries in it in case of a power outage, but when the unit has the plug attachment to it, but it is unplugged, the batteries do not seem to do anything. I am disappointed at this as we live in a windy area and lose power a few times a year. I just have to remember to go check and lock up the coop afterwards. I'm not sure how it is going to work, as I did not try to close or open it without power. Here is why I gave it 4 stars: we installed the control panel on the south side of the coop as that is the side that gets the most sunlight. The panel door will not stay shut due to wind. I'm not even talking a big gust. It seems any wind will blow it open. I am worried how the components are going to do when exposed to rain, sleet, snow, etc., so I call their customer service line. I spoke to a very friendly woman who told me to take a rubber band and band the door shut. These doors cost me almost $200 each and they couldn't figure out a way to make the control panel door latch so I wouldn't have to use a rubber band? I just hope that is the only place they cut corners, but so far I'm happy.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Apr 2022 This reviewer has 10+ Large and bantam chi pets


E auto coop door - Dave, East Sussex,

Fitting the door to an traditional wooden coop was fairly straightforward with good instructions provided. The only room far improvement would be the way the menu works for setting up the operation. Took two of us to get it right but now working ok in the ‘timed’ mode.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Mar 2022 This reviewer has 2-4 pets


Plug and play - Ben,

Nice and simple to install and program. A simple bendable sheetmetal bracket would be great for those of us who can't afford a $1200 chicken coop
Review for: Coop Light - Automatic Chicken Coop Door

This reviewer has 6-8 Bress chickens, Peki pets


Happy Hens and Happy Owner - Neil,

Does exactly what was needed. Our girls can get up and out at sunrise, whilst I can stay in bed until a more civilised time :-)
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

Verified Purchase: Feb 2022 This reviewer has 4-6 Pekin bantam hens pets


Good - Zoe,

Pleased with it overall, but battery indicator says 0% when they are brand new batteries. It is quite a simple control system so if there is a next generation it would be great to have the ability to have a mix of time and manual settings as an option, and the ability to set and control it through a phone app and perhaps even a webcam option so I can see what's happened.
Review for: Autodoor Attachment Kit for Omlet Chicken Runs

Verified Purchase: Mar 2022

Omlet Says: Hi Zoe, Thank you for these suggestions. These aspects can indeed be considered for future developments, which is why I passed them to our Product Design team. Normally, the battery indicator should start from 100% with new batteries. Don't hesitate to let us know if this issue persists after the change of battery so that we can investigate further and take action if necessary. Yours, Clémence, Omlet Customer Services


Does make life easier - Martyn,

It does make life so much easier. The door itself is well made and works well. Programming and setting up the door is relatively simple. I have found that the wind tends to blow the flap up, and due to the angle of the coop, it stays up. A simple catch would prevent this. Changing batteries is not that easy. You have to undo four small screws, that if dropped, could be a nightmare to find. I would also not recommend changing the batteries in the rain as you have to expose the printed circuit board to the elements. Shame it wasn’t designed to incorporate a simple battery tray.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Jan 2022


Good item - Mark,

Good item you have to assemble the door yourself for some reason I thought it should come assembled but all works well. It’s a bit expensive but seems to be of good quality
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Jan 2022 This reviewer has 2-4 pets


Batteries last forever - An Omleteer, Tennessee,

I've been using mine now for 18 months. I'm STILL on the same set of batteries! I have it set for Light function, so it runs twice a day. Plus when I clean the coop, I generally will manually close the door to keep them out. I did have a problem with the track icing up. It would rain then the temps would drop below freezing. To solve this, I just took a piece of aluminum flashing I had lying around and screwed it above the door so that it hung over the track. For something this simple, they should include a piece of 3" wide aluminum to fix this problem. 25 cents wouldn't kill them on a $200 door. We just got another coop and I did order a second door for it as well, so I'm satisfied as to it's reliability.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

Verified Purchase: Feb 2022 This reviewer has 6-8 pets


Liking it so far - Christy,

I bought this light so I could see to make sure my chickens were all put away for the night. I bought an extra for my first door I purchased. Maybe could be a little brighter but it is enough to see the whole chicken yard. It is very easy to install and easy to use. Love it.
Review for: Coop Light - Automatic Chicken Coop Door

Verified Purchase: Jan 2022 This reviewer has 10+ 25 different ones pets


Works well - Mirem, New York,

I bought this door to replace a solar-powered Pullet-Shut door that worked well for years, but that stopped working, with no amount of troubleshooting able to fix the issue. That door was very tricky to program - not intuitive. This Omlet door works nicely and the programming is easy to do. I have it running on batteries. I have to set a calendar reminder to check the batteries because there's no warning light when they are running low. A couple of weeks ago the door didn't open in the morning because the batteries were dead. For me, a reliable chicken coop door is crucial because the chickens are at work - I can't be there early in the morning or late at night. Hoping this door lasts!
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Jan 2022 This reviewer has 10+ Millefleur d'Uccle, pets

1 of 7   Next