Verified Reviews for Outdoor Cat Run

2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 96 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Cattery -

Yes found this to be a nice product took a little bit of sorting out but easy once I did. Hope to extend by another 2 sections in spring as our cats love it .

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Very good product, keeps my cat safe - California,

After spending much time researching the many different catios on the market, I am satisfied with my decision to go with this Omelet product. The 6 x 6 x 6 catio is a good size for the small patio slab outside the back door of my apartment. Assembly was not simple, and I had to refer to the video every step of the way. The printed instructions could be better. I found the great many small plastic clips involved to be problematic, as unclipping some to move them to a different position rendered them unusable. I will need to order more of those when I move. Disassembling this and then reassembling it after a move will not be easy. I think this catio would be ideal on a nice lawn in the backyard of a house. But it's good, on the less expensive end, and I recommend it.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


Cat 2x2x2 -

I set it up by myself using the video online and the manual, laying it out as per the video I’m only 5’4” so I used a ladder to do the roof. It took me about 6hrs to build but then I am a slow and methodical 53yo woman. The whole enclosure is well made and the clips tough, it took a little while to get the hang of the best way for handling the various clips so be patient with yourself. I found a flat screwdriver very handy for prying apart the pole clips if I’d placed them incorrectly. I erected this freestanding in my backyard away from the house and try as I might for a week or two my cat did not like it even when I sat in there with her and cat treats and toys and shade cloth so she did not feel too exposed. I was devastated however after much rethinking the structure and my rental property I took the enclosure apart and reconstructed the pieces to make a solid, escapefree run on the side of my rental house. I didn’t drill into the dwelling and I didn’t cut bend or otherwise change any of the mesh. All I added was a platform, a bridge made from garden edging and a cat hammock. Now my cat can come and go when she wants she happily pops in and out through my bathroom window and I still have a complete 2x2x2 run if I ever need to move.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


Keeping track of my kittens - Rhode Island,

This has turned out to be great solving the issue of letting the kittens be outdoors but also keeping them safe if I cannot watch them. Was fairly easy to set up. Needed two people for sure. Besides the plastic snaps that hold it together I did wire tie it in several areas to be sure. For some reason the wire caging is small on the bottom - but larger on top. For kittens is would be better to have it all small since they can stick their head through it. Maybe provide a option if you want order all the small caging? I continue to add things inside for them to climb and keep busy. I would recommend it for sure and it looks nice as well.

Verified Purchase: Jun 2019


Good -

Easy to assemble - hard part is probably ensuring you have a flat surface. Mine is on grass. Solid enough - I was a bit worried as I live at the top of a hill and we get strong winds but it will be fine - its sturdy enough plus its open so the wind will just go through it. Open - it seems very open and I think the cats feel a bit like they're in a goldfish bowl but that will be sorted when my climbers grow. Door is easy to open and shut. One negative is that the wire in the top part is wider than the bottom part - a small bird could easily fly through especially now while the babies are about. I noticed a wren nearly flew through one day while it was on my hanging basket. Time will tell how long they last but so far I'm pleased, despite having initial delivery problems.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2019


Good, but not perfect. -

The run was easy to construct with two people, the clips are a little fiddly. Once constructed the run is very solid and spacious enough to give our two indoor cats some outdoor play space. I've rated 4 stars rather than five as a few of the panels had a bent corner, we were able to straighten them out, but when paying this much money you sort of expect everything to be spot on. Overall, very happy with the purchase and would recommend.

Verified Purchase: Nov 2020


So far so good -

We bought the low-level cat run to try it out, thinking that, if our indoor-only cat (he's deaf) liked it we would extend upwards. As we weren't sure exactly where to site the run we made it up to only half the depth to try it out (it's about double the size of a dog crate at the moment). At this size we can move it around the garden (two-handed) and put it on the patio to mow the lawn. There is enough space for Murphy to walk around and to sit and watch the birds and insects, and the other cats when they are out. We cover one end for shade if the sun shines and give him a mat, water and toys. So far he's not a big fan - he doesn't seem to see the point - but as time goes on he may come to enjoy his outside time; it must be good for him to get some sunshine on his fur and some fresh air in his lungs and we can add to his space with the panels we have left over if we want to. We found it fairly easy to put together (a flat surface helps a lot) and being green and lightweight it doesn't look too out of place in our small garden. Four stars not five because the middle t-shaped supports don't seem quite tall enough.

Verified Purchase: Oct 2019

Omlet Says: Thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact our customer service on 01295 500900 or at info@omlet.co.uk if you think there is an issue with pole supports and we will be happy to help. Yours, The Omlet team


-

Verified Purchase: Dec 2017


A solid, good looking product, but not easy to put together -

Although there was an initial delay in getting the product delivered, the electronic communication sent by Omlet was good, and the delivery arrived OK as stated. At first I was rather dubious about the product when it arrived in 4 flat boxes. It did not seem that all the parts could fit in there, however as we laid all the parts out, everything was accounted for. Two fairly practical people ( although novices to erecting cat runs) commenced proceedings. Three and half hours (and many expletives later) the 'cat castle' was in place. Once the roof was put on, it all made sense, and it became a sturdy construction. We found several difficulties however:- 1) The clips were difficult to locate together 2) The small illustrations in the manual did not make much sense to us, and we had to guess and improvise some of the clipped together parts. 3) The floor skirting part only sits together if the ground is perfectly flat. We have situated the structure in a rural field setting, and although relatively flat, again we had to improvise to make the construction work for us. 4) For some reason, we made a hash of putting the door together, and had to look at this several times. Perhaps you could add an idiot's guide page to your manual on how the door fits together. My co-worker with this project observed that it might have been better for the poles to be spiked so they could be driven into the ground initially. However I realise for an urban patio or decking this feature would not be of much use, but it might be something to consider on lawns. One observation I would make is that this structure was purchased to keep a cat safe, but also to spare the lives of numerous birds in the nesting season. I notice that the size of the holes in the wire on the second tier of the structure are larger than the bottom tier, and small birds can fly through. Although it may add to the cost a little, could the wire gauge be smaller throughout to assist in bird preservation? We are very pleased with the final result. We like the dark green finish, which I feel works in most gardens. The structure looks good and would work for any garden space. We have put cut branches around the enclosure and hung up feathers, scratching logs etc, to give a more natural feel for the cat. It is roomy and open, and the cat is slowly getting used to it. Obviously, if we had to do this over again, we would probably have gone about this a bit differently. The 4 stars overall represent the product itself and our experiences in erecting it. I would certainly recommend Omlet to other people who wish to give their feline friends both security and some freedom as well.

Verified Purchase: Jun 2017


Yet to start erecting cat enclosure -

I have hired a handyman to help me put the cat enclosure together but we haven't started yet. I would have found it very helpful for there to be a list of quanties of the various items given on each page in the manual for each level of the cat run as there are 10 boxes to open to get things out of and that means spreading items everywhere. It would also be helpful for a table to say what quantities of items were required for each level from each box too. That's as far as I have got so far. I'm looking forward to having the enclosure built.

Verified Purchase: Apr 2017

1 of 2   Next